Day 28 – A mysterious beach walk at Loch Larbrax Bay, Scotland

Backpacking to Stranraer, Scotland from 21 May to 26 June 2014 (37days)


Day 28 (17.06.2014 Tue) – a mysterious beach walk at Loch Larbrax bay

The week here had been glorious weather and it’s no better time than to get to the beach. We visited Larbrax Beach, which is a short drive from Stranraer. On the approach the initial part of the track down to the beach is quite smooth passing through open countryside, but it then becomes quite bumpy.

On the return journey we visited Portpatrick again. We had Piza for lunch. It was another free day and getting ready for our travel to the Lake District the next day. Dinner was a big 8kg trout fish given by Alistair’s neighbour as main meal. We had Joyce sup noodle as starter and apple strudel and ice cream as dessert.

Sleeping: Shambley Residence, Millfield Avenue, Stranraer, Scotland. Temp: min.12 – max.18°C


This morning Alistair drove us to Loch Larbrax bay for the mysterious walked along the beach with very thick smog.

First we had to walk up the ladder over barbed-wired fence.


It was truly a mysterious beach walk.

As always, the beach is deserted and we are the only people out there - only us, the sky, the sea, the very thick mist, the sand and the rocks.


The tide was out and so there were miles of sand and rocky outcrops to walk on.
With the very thick mist on this day, visibility was about 40ft.
As we walked through the mist and at one point we could not see each other and Val Allan was lost. However, Allan was smart to quickly turn-back.
Foggy morning makes a beach walk feel mysterious.





There were also plenty of edible sea weeds.

Foggy morning makes a beach walk feel mysterious.



There were also plenty of rubbish being washed up ashore.




This is Alistair's car - Nissan Qashoai



A Scottish donkey along the road.

On the return journey we visited Portpatrick again.



Portpatrick Parish Church built in 1840 to 1842. The entrance elevation has 3-stage advanced square-plan tower. This is a town church in a street. It has whinstone walls and a slate roof.


The view of Stranraer town and Loch Ryan from Gallowhill.

Panoramic view of Stranraer taken from Gallowhill. Noticed that Loch Ryan is also covered with mist and fog.




We had Piza for lunch.

After a refreshing walk on the beach what better way to finish off a perfect afternoon than to have a lovely lunch back home.
As for dinner we had Joyce sup noodle as starter and apple strudel and ice cream as dessert.


We had Joyce sup noodle as starter.

Dinner was a big 8kg trout fish given by Alistair’s neighbour as main meal.

Now you see!

And now you don't.....

The best Bourbon Vanilla ice cream to go with apple strudel
Click below to view daily adventures:
Day 01 (21.05.2014 Wed) – MH16 KUL/AMS 2355hr – 0655hr on 22May
Day 02 (22.05.2014 Thr) – Amsterdam City, Holland
Day 03 (23.05.2014 Fri) – Amsterdam Zaanse Schans Village (21km)
Day 04 (24.05.2014 Sat) – KL.1477R AMS/GLA 1535hr - 1605hr Glasgow Airport
Day 05 (25.05.2014 Sun) – Stranraer, Scotland
 

Day 06 (26.05.2014 Mon) – Fishing station at Lady Bay (15km) Loch Ryan
Day 07 (27.05.2014 Tue) – Portpatrick and Mull of Galloway Lighthouse (58km)
Day 08 (28.05.2014 Wed) – Lide supermarket (2.8km) and Museum
Day 09 (29.05.2014 Thu) – Exploring Galloway Forest Park (56km)
Day 10 (30.05.2014 Fri) – Kirkland Fishery Farm in Leswalt (4.6km)
 

Day 11 (31.05.2014 Sat) – Exploring Galloway Forest Park (60km)
Day 12 (01.06.2014 Sun) – Trekking 20.8km Loch Ryan Coastal Path
Day 13 (02.06.2014 Mon) – A free and easy rest day
Day 14 (03.06.2014 Tue) – To Robert Burns Cottage at Alloway (78km)
Day 15 (04.06.2014 Wed) – Fishing station at Lady Bay (15km) Loch Ryan
 

Day 16 (05.06.2014 Thu) – A trip to the Giant Causeway (153km) by coach
Day 17 (06.06.2014 Fri) – Trekking 4km Ardwell Pond, Ardwell Bay (18km)
Day 18 (07.06.2014 Sat) – Our ladies went shopping in Ayr (72km)
Day 19 (08.06.2014 Sun) – Visiting Isabelle/Robert in Newton Steward (50km)
Day 20 (09.06.2014 Mon) – Overnight stay at Fishing Station, Lady Bay Loch Ryan
 

Day 21 (10.06.2014 Tue) – Visited a farm using automated milking
Day 22 (11.06.2014 Wed) – Day 1 of Scenic West Coast Tour, Scotland
Day 23 (12.06.2014 Thu) – Day 2 of Scenic West Coast Tour, Scotland
Day 24 (13.06.2014 Fri) – Day 3 of Scenic West Coast Tour, Scotland
Day 25 (14.06.2014 Sat) – Day 4 of Scenic West Coast Tour, Scotland
 

Day 26 (15.06.2014 Sun) – Day 5 of Scenic West Coast Tour, Scotland
Day 27 (16.06.2014 Mon) – Allan and Pauline 50th wedding anniversary
Day 28 (17.06.2014 Tue) – Mysterious beach walk at Loch Larbrax, Scotland
Day 29 (18.06.2014 Wed) – Lake Loweswater, Lake District, UK (day1)

Day 30 (19.06.2014 Thu) – Outward Bound Ullswater, Lake Ullswater (day2)

Day 31 (20.06.2014 Fri) – Return from Lake District (day3)
Day 32 (21.06.2014 Sat) – Our last visit to the bothy at Lady Bay
Day 33 (22.06.2014 Sun) – A farewell dinner hosted by Margaret Modrate
Day 34 (23.06.2014 Mon) – A farewell tea hosted by Vera Little

Day 35 (24.06.2014 Tue) – To Glasgow for a night stay for next day flight
 

Day 36 (25.6.2014Wed) Glasgow 6am to Amsterdam 8.40//MH17 12noon to KLIA
Day 37 (26.06.2014 Thu) – MH17 touched down at KLIA at 6.20am.
///

3 comments:

  1. Hello! Τhhis рost could not be ԝrіtten any better! Reading thrοugh this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept chаtting ɑbut this. I will forward this write-up tо him. Ϝaiгly ceгtain he will haѵe a good read. Thank you for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  2. You captured images furnish dazzling outlook. I have visited Portpatrick village before my washington dc tour from new jersey with my friends. It offers different spot to visit. It is really beautiful town with precipice outward appearance the scenery. You can take pleasure in this region with family. Its themes and water parks are also most attractive.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I must say all of you had great fun there. I also have visited this fabulous place about 4 months ago after completing my tour of bus from hollywood to disneyland with my family. We had great fun during our trip we did scuba diving, visits beautiful sights, which represents beauty of nature. LestWalt is a village that is located in middle of Portpatrick and Stranraer. That was such a pleasant experience to stay there. Gollaoway is one of my best travel destinations it offers mountain biking, climbing, diving, wind surfing, and many many more to do. We also enjoyed outdoor games there. That was a pleasant experience of my life.

    ReplyDelete